

## North American Nations Agree on New Trade Deal

## By Elizabeth M. Klarin

## October 1, 2018 | IMMIGRATION

The United States, Canada and Mexico have preliminarily agreed on a new trade deal, being called the *United States-Mexico-Canada Agreement* or "USMCA." This agreement will supersede the 1994 North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). Importantly, it appears that the USMCA will preserve the immigration benefits accorded to Canadian, Mexican and U.S. citizens under NAFTA, including for business visitors, treaty traders and investors, intra-company transferees, and professionals as set forth in NAFTA Appendix 1603.D.1. Other key provisions that have been highlighted relate to trade and administrative aspects of the deal (access to the dairy market across borders, auto tariff accommodations, dispute settlement mechanisms, sunset clause, etc.).

The agreement, announced on Sunday September 30, 2018, follows more than a year of intense negotiations designed to meet the latest deadline of Monday, October 1, 2018 set by the United States. American law requires the text of any new trade agreement to be released 60 days before it is signed, and with Mexico's current president leaving office November 30th, this deadline had to be met in order for the current Mexican government to sign off on the agreement before the change is made to the new government.

For a full copy of the published text of the USMCA agreement, please click here.

**Disclaimer:** The information in this post is provided for general informational purposes only, and may not reflect the current law in your jurisdiction. No information contained in this post should be construed as legal advice from our firm or the individual author, nor is it intended to be a substitute for legal counsel on any subject matter. No reader of this post should act or refrain from acting on the basis of any information included in, or accessible through, this post without seeking the appropriate legal or other professional advice on the particular facts and circumstances at issue from a lawyer licensed in the recipient's state, country or other appropriate licensing jurisdiction.

New York: Albany, Buffalo, Clarence, Long Island, New York City, Rochester, Saratoga Springs // Florida: Jacksonville // Illinois: Chicago Ohio: Cleveland // Oklahoma: Oklahoma City // Ontario: Greater Toronto Area // Texas: San Antonio // Washington, D.C. Attorney Advertising. Prior results do not guarantee a similar outcome.